The War Within (Avant Garde Magazine)

the-battle-within

 

 

The War Within: Embracing the light and dark

 

Dear Erin,

 

I am writing today because I am trying to figure out why I keep sabotaging my life in strange ways.  Just when my career starts going well or a relationship I am in is thriving, I tend to find a way to destroy it. I feel like there is something wrong with me, like I’m my own worst friend. There is something in me that desires to be my best self and make a difference in the world!

Please, send me a hero to help me figure out the meaning of all of this!

 

Dear Hero,

In the famous book, ‘The Hero’s Journey,’ Joseph Campbell identifies that we all have a hero within.” It’s not to deny reason, to the contrary, by overcoming the dark passions, the hero symbolizes our ability to control the irrational savage within us.”  He describes ‘The Hero’s Journey’ not as a courageous act, but as a life lived in self-discovery.   The struggle between the forces of good and evil are always within. When we discover what limited beliefs we created within our mind that are driving us to sabotage our lives, we begin to be freed from the war within.

 

The Star Wars Movie series was based on Joseph Campbell’s work.  The main character of the series, Luke Skywalker, finds the force within himself, the power of character to meet his destiny.  He finds he can overcome evil and be set free. He realizes that the ultimate evil is a part of him self, and in order to overcome it, he must embrace it. The ultimate aim of the quest must be neither release nor ecstasy for oneself, but the wisdom and the power to serve a higher purpose.

 

Until we are able to embrace our ‘light’ and ‘dark’ side, we will never be set free. The true freedom comes when we step outside judging ourselves and going beyond our limited viewpoint. It is in seeking truth and wisdom, one is able to go beyond the conflicts of illusion and regain ones true self.

So, where do you start?  Begin by embracing your ‘light’ and ‘dark’ side unconditionally. To love oneself is to love all of oneself. Next, begin to discover the limited beliefs that are driving you to sabotage your life. Then, become that which you seek, embodying the character that reflects your destiny. And finally, re-write the story for your life with a victorious ending!

“People say that what we’re all seeking is the meaning of life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive.”

~ Joseph Campbell

 

May the force be with you!

Love, e

 

P.S. You are the force!

 

Leave a Reply

